Activation time

Occasionally you may want to gather responses to an activity outside of a presentation or continue to accept reponses long after a presentation has ended. You can leave a poll active for a set period of time after which it will automatically close. Sometimes, however, you might just forget to close an activity. This can cause a great deal of confusion for both participants and yourself.

By default, questions will remain active for one day after you activate them unless you deactivate the poll manually.

Helpful tip: For more information about manually activating and deactivating your polls, see the Activation article.

You can adjust this using the drop down menu on the Poll settings page.

Step 1: Click the Settings icon in the top right corner and select My settings.

Click setting icon

Step 2: On the My settings page, click the Poll settings tab.

Select Poll settings

Step 3: In the drop down menu under the question, How long do you want your polls to stick around after you activate them, select the duration you want as your default activation time. Your may choose 3 hours, 1 day, 1 week, or 30 days.

Activation time

Helpful tip: You can always set an individual activity to lock (refuse to accept any more incoming responses) before the default activation time is up. Visit the Locking and unlocking activities article for more information.

Resources

Find out more about using Poll Everywhere to delight your audience, class, or colleagues.